NSIAS Association

The Nova Scotia International Air Show Association (NSIASA) was formed as a Nova Scotian not-for-profit society in 1996. It originally evolved as the civilian equivalent to the military organizing team that managed the Shearwater International Air Show from 1981 to 1995.

Vision Statement

Growing aerospace awareness in Atlantic Canada.

Mission Statement

The Nova Scotia International Air Show Association will present and foster the growth of Air Shows in Atlantic Canada. In support of aviation, aerospace and defence and in showcasing the Canadian Forces, NSIASA will provide economic value and top-level entertainment for the fans and communities.

Objectives & Activities

Through its core activities, the Nova Scotia International Air Show Association will maintain the premiere annual air show event in the region - The Atlantic Canada International Air Show.

In conjunction with the Air Show, NSIASA will operate the Canadian Defence Aerospace and Security Exhibition Atlantic - an industry showcase and networking event highlighting business opportunities for the region and creating an economic base for air show operations.

NSIASA will promote, partner with, and produce additional air shows in Atlantic Canada. NSIASA will participate with industry in order to expand the fan base for air shows, widen appreciation of aviation and the military, and positively affect the Association in its core activities.

NSIASA will partner with industry associations for the promotion of air shows, tourism and aerospace industry growth.

Board of Directors

Our volunteer Board of Directors supports the Organizing Team's efforts with guidance and governance of both the Atlantic Canada International Air Show and DEFSEC Atlantic. The current members of the Board are:


Gerry Morey, Chair
Mark McIntyre, Vice-Chair
Jack Backstrom, Secretary
Jim MacKenzie, Treasurer
Tony Goode, Past Chair


Larry Gaudet, Member-at-Large
Chris Giddens, Member-at-Large
Mark James, Member-at-Large
Callum MacPhail, Member-at-Large
Paul McCabe, Member-at-Large
Patricia Myatt, Member-at-Large
Sean Ryan, Member-at-Large
Dave Skene, Member-at-Large
Peter Stoffer, Member-at-Large


Colin Stephenson, Executive Director
LCol Scott Dennis, Air Force Advisor
Capt (N) Guillaume Lafrance, Navy Advisor
Col Warren Smith, Army Advisor